Geneva, Switzerland - 22.09.2022

The winners of the 2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) were announced on Thursday 22 September in Geneva, Switzerland. The six Award winners, who will share the $1 million award, one of the largest in architecture, show promise for communities, innovation and care for the environment.

The 2022 winners are:

Urban River Spaces, Jhenaidah, Bangladesh

Community Spaces in Rohingya Refugee Response, Cox’s Bazar, Bangladesh

Banyuwangi International airport, Blimbingsari, East Java, Indonesia

Argo Contemporary Art Museum and Cultural Centre, Tehran, Iran

Renovation of Niemeyer Guest House, Tripoli, Lebanon

Kamanar Secondary School, Thionck Essyl, Senegal.


For a full online press kit, which includes briefs on each of the winning projects, high-resolution images, broadcast-quality video (for use by television stations and websites) and other information, please see   


Press Release