Geneva, Switzerland, 25 April 2019

The 20 shortlisted projects for the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today. The projects will compete for US$ 1 million in prize money. In January, an independent Master Jury reviewed hundreds of nominations. The 20 shortlisted projects are now undergoing rigorous investigations by a team of experts who visit and evaluate each project on-site. Their reports are the basis for the Master Jury’s selection of the eventual laureates. It should be noted that projects commissioned by the Aga Khan or any of the institutions of the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) are ineligible for the Award. To be eligible for consideration in the 2019 Award cycle, projects had to be completed between 1 January 2012 and 31 December 2017, and should have been in use for at least one year.

For a full on-line press kit, which includes briefs on each project and high-resolution images, please see

Press Release


AKAA Introduction Video


Tatarstan Public Spaces Development Programme

Concrete at Al-Serkal Avenue

Al Mureijah Art Spaces

Wasit Wetland Center

Muttrah Fish Market

Pearl Route

Msheireb Museums

Ashinaga Uganda Dormitory

Tadjourah SOS Children's Village

Arcadia Education Project

Amber Denim Loom Shed

Taman Bima Microlibrary

AM Residence

Courtyard House Plugin

Beyazit State Library Renovation

Palestinian Museum

Jarahieh School

Warka Water

Lecture Building at the Alioune Diop University

Enghelab Street Rehabilitation